Day 9 -“You got to give up the shit that weighs you down”

Each day it’s getting more difficult to find and collect the things that I’m willing to get rid of. Every thing that I find has got “just in case” or “I might use this one day” attached to it. All the time I have to ask myself the question: When was the last time I used it? Will this add value to my life? I constantly need to remind myself of the advise that someone gave me once:

If you haven’t used it in one year, you should get rid of it.

So that’s what I’m doing, I’m getting rid of things that I haven’t used for more than a year. Some things I have barely used at all and that makes me sad. Sad that I bought something that I didn’t’ need. Sad that I bought something that has been lying in the closet for more than a year. Sad that I barely used something that was given to me as a present. It’s time to give it to someone who will make use of it more than I ever did. It’s more wasteful to let it stay in the closet never to be used, than to give it away to someone who would actually use it.

Energy needs to flow or else it stagnates. Everything has energy and I believe that energy needs to move. Perhaps that’s why I feel so much lighter when I let go of things, when I let go of the energy that remains stagnant in the house..it’s like I’m releasing the energy that weighs me down.

I was trying to find the perfect words to describe the way I feel every time I let go of material possessions. This quote is spot on:

You wanna fly, you got to give up the shit that weighs you down – Toni Morrison

 

16780353_10154119866941436_568669532_n

 

Leave a Reply

