Day 11 – sentimental items linked to self-worth?

Ok…I’m coming to a point where I’m starting to get sentimental about things. I have things that I never use but still want to keep. What is the reason? Why do I want to hold on to things that I don’t use anyway?

During my online research in trying to find some answers to why we often are reluctant to give away things that we are emotionally attached to I stumbled across an interesting article. The author of the article refers to Marie Kondo’s book The Life-Changing Magic of Tidying Up, which recommends only keeping the things that “spark joy”. However, embracing a minimalist lifestyle can be more difficult than it seems. The article talks about The Science Behind Why It’s So Hard to Get Rid of Clutter and how the struggle of getting rid of stuff is likely linked to your self-worth. For example, if you value success you may find it challenging to get rid of things that remind you of your achievements, such as old college transcripts. If you value your relationships more, you may struggle to get rid of gifts from family or friends. This is where I often get stuck. I have left certain things untouched because these are gifts that I have received from friends, which I find incredibly difficult to get rid of.

Take-away notes from the article:

“…next time you get frustrated by your cluttered desk or your spare room that serves as a catch-all, consider whether those objects you’re holding onto have anything to do with your self-worth. Not only could it give you some insight into the way you measure your self-worth, but it might also help you decide what’s worse: the grief you’ll experience if you toss it or the frustration you experience from looking at the clutter.”

 

fullsizerender-7

Leave a Reply

