Day 12 – A gift is a gesture of kindness

Wow…I have found jewellery that I haven’t used since I was 10 years old. Perhaps it’s time to get rid of some necklaces, bracelets and earrings from the nineties.

Some of these 12 items have memories attached to them.

The necklace with the moon and the star was bought during a family holiday in Cyprus when I was 11 years old. I remember how I loved it so much that I couldn’t let it go even when it kept breaking apart several times, probably due to poor quality of the necklace.

The black and grey bracelet was a gift from a friend when visiting Sri Lanka in 2013.

The brown earrings is another gift from a friend from Sydney. It was her own earrings that she gave away.

The green and yellow bracelet is also a gift from a nice little girl in Perth.

I appreciate these gifts.

The reason why I take photos of all items that I’m giving away is partly because I want to know what things I have let go of and partly because I want to remember the gifts that people have given me. I believe that a gift is a gesture of kindness that we should value, not the thing itself but the love and thoughtfulness behind the item – that is the gift that we should value. Each item has a memory of a time and place attached to it, which I’m keeping through these photographs. Whilst keeping the memories associated with the items, I’m letting go of the physical objects by giving them away, hoping that they can bring new memories for someone else to keep.

16901850_10154138410026436_1037918278_n

Leave a Reply

